> wiki   Explore:images videos games  


KidzSearch Safe Wikipedia for Kids.
Jump to: navigation, search
The Reichstag building. The words DEM DEUTSCHEN VOLKE – "To the German people" are written above the main entrance.
The Reichstag building was designed as a home to the parliament of the German Empire. It was opened in 1894. The original building's design was made by Paul Wallot. This building was built in Berlin, Germany.

It was building used by the parliament of the German Empire until 1918. The parliament of the Weimar Republic, also called the Reichstag sat there until 1933, when it was burned down. The Third Reich had no parliament, so the building remained empty and derelict until after German reunification.

Then it became the seat of the German parliament again in 1999 after a reconstruction led by British architect Lord Norman Foster

Today's parliament of Germany is called the Bundestag. The Reichstag as a parliament dates back to the Holy Roman Empire and ceased to act as a true parliament in the years of Nazi Germany (1933-1945). In today's usage, the German term Reichstag refers to the building, while the term Bundestag refers to the institution.

The Reichstag dome

The Reichstag dome is the large glass dome at the very top of the building. The dome has a 360-degree view of the surrounding Berlin cityscape. The main hall of the parliament below can also be seen from inside the dome, and natural light from above emits down to the parliament floor. A large sun shield tracks the movement of the sun electronically and blocks direct sunlight which would not only cause large solar gain, but impress those below. Construction work was finished in 1999 and the seat of parliament was transferred to the Bundestag in April of that year. The dome is no longer open to anyone without prior registration.

Other websites

Coordinates: 52°31′07″N 13°22′34″E / 52.5186°N 13.376°E / 52.5186; 13.376