kidzsearch.com > wiki Explore:images videos games
It is known for the famous imposter Wilhelm Voigt, the Captain of Köpenick.
Köpenick was an independent town until 1920. It then became a borough of Berlin, with an area of 128 km2 (49 sq mi), making it Berlin's largest borough. In 2001, the borough of Köpenick was merged with that of Treptow to create the current borough of Treptow-Köpenick.
A lot of Köpenick's area is covered with forests and water, such as the Müggelsee lake.
The Spree connects Köpenick with the Müggelsee and the Berlin city centre. The Oder-Spree Canal links the Dahme, at nearby Schmöckwitz, with the Oder river, at Eisenhüttenstadt, thus providing a navigable connection between Köpenick and the Oder.
There are so many forests and parks in Köpenick is sometimes called the "green lungs" of Berlin. The Müggelberge hills in the south-east of Köpenick reach 115 m (377 ft), making them the highest natural point of Berlin.
Köpenick is divided into 8 zones:
- Kietzer Vorstadt
- Köllnische Vorstadt
For many years Köpenick was an independent town. Its was first mentioned as a stronghold in 1209. This means Köpenick is older than Berlin-Cölln, which was first mentioned in a 1237 deed. For the most part of Köpenick's history, the town was known as Cöpenick.
In 1631, during the Thirty Years' War, the emissaries of George William, Elector of Brandenburg went to Köpenick to meet the approaching army of Gustav Adolph, King of Sweden, to try to stop the devastation of Brandenburg.